Official advice for New Zealanders living and travelling overseas

News features

United States of America: Changes to entry requirements

An Executive Order signed by President Trump on 6 March 2017 has been partially reintroduced following a Supreme Court ruling on 26 June 2017. The Executive Order temporarily suspends entry into the United States of certain foreign nationals from six countries: Syria, Sudan, Iran, Somalia, Libya, and Yemen.

The Executive Order does not restrict the travel of New Zealand dual nationals, so long as they travel on their New Zealand passport and possess a valid United States visa. For the latest information please check the websites of the US State Department and the Department of Homeland Security.

We encourage all New Zealanders who require advice on entry into the United States to contact the United States Embassy or Consulate in New Zealand.

The Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade is unable to advise on the entry requirements of other countries.

Associated Advisories:

Share this page:

Share this page:

Latest News features